Home

Weave the Lightning, Out Now!

Buy now!
Indie-Bound | Powell’s | Barnes & Noble | Amazon US UK
Audio: Scribd | Audiobooks | Audible

EMPIRE. REVOLUTION. MAGIC.

Gerrit is the son of Bourshkanya’s Supreme-General. Despite his powerful storm-affinity and the State’s best training, he can’t control his magic. To escape the brutal consequences, he flees.

Celka is a travelling circus performer, hiding both her link to the underground and her storm-affinity from the prying eyes of the secret police. But Gerrit’s arrival threatens to expose everything: her magic, her family, and the people they protect.

The storms have returned, and everything will change.

For fans of Brent Weeks’ Lightbringer series and Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows, this stunning fantasy debut combines rich, Russian-inspired worldbuilding, a complex magic system, and passionate characters in a multilayered tale of personal discovery and political awakening.

Read an excerpt | Explore the intricate magic system | Explore Corry’s inspiration and writing process.


Join the Resistance!

The Resistance will keep you informed about Corry’s books and contests to win free stuff.

Processing…
Success! You’ve joined the Resistance.

About Corry

Corry with a pen

Corry L. Lee is a science fiction and fantasy author, Ph.D. physicist, award-winning science teacher, data geek, pansexual, and mom. 

Corry’s historical fantasy novel, Weave the Lightning, came out in April 2020 from Solaris Books. The sequel, The Storm’s Betrayal, is due out April 2021. Her science fiction short story “Shutdown” won the Writers of the Future award. 

In Ph.D. research at Harvard, she shed light on the universe fractions of a second after the Big Bang and won numerous teaching awards.  Later, at Amazon, she connected science to technology, improving customer experience through online experimentation.

Meet Corry at one of her upcoming appearances, where she’ll happily enthuse about cross-country skiing, French pop music, or single origin coffee.  (Or whatever she’s currently loving.)

Corry is represented by Lisa Rodgers of JABberwocky Literary.

 “‘Shutdown’ is a beautifully vivid and imaginative story — this is what science fiction is supposed to do.”

Tim Powers, World Fantasy Award-winning author

Tense, timely, and crackling with urgent energy. I guarantee that by the end of the book, you will be looking for your own resistance to join… or to start.

Premee Mohamed on Weave the Lightning